“Do Not Call”

I’ve never seriously been bothered by “spam” phone calls on my mobile – but until recently it was in the name of my former employer.    When life with them terminated,  I took the mobile phone number with me and transferred the service into my name.

Since then, I’ve had a number of persistent “missed calls” from a small number of unfamiliar numbers.   On googling a couple of the numbers concerned (Google is indeed a friend in these circumstances), it became apparent that telemarketers – such as “Accor Vacation Club” – had got hold of my number.   It dawned on me that previously the number had probably been on the “Do Not Call” list, but by switching it to my own name, it was now “fair game”.IMG_6950

Having found out the inconvenient way about the situation, naturally, I’ve now placed the number on the “Do Not Call” list.Screenshot (222)

 

I’ve also noticed that telemarketers aren’t supposed to suppress their caller number, which makes it a little easier to identify them.

Leave a Reply

